Some people think that being able to communicate online is breaking geographical barriers and enabling people, who would never have the chance to meet, communicate online. What are the advantages of international communications? Are there any disadvantage too?

With the advancement of technology and the internet, more and more people are conversing on the internet, for social and business purposes with international citizens. This while beneficial also poses problems. In this essay, we shall discuss the pros and cons of international communications. First of all, let's look at the advantages. It helps loved ones stay in contact with each other, wherever they may be. For example, the current pandemic is a classic example of this. Many natives, either working or holidaying abroad are not being allowed to enter their home country. In such situations, online communications have become a blessing. Furthermore, many companies can expand their businesses into various international markets, with the help of various online video calling applications which can help them to also convey urgent business instructions at any given more. On the other hand, such communications can tend to make people spend many hours socialising online with others rather than forming lasting relationships in person. Secondly, it can give rise to an increasing number of scams that occur. For example, some scammers pretend to be someone else and socialise with others, gaining their trust. Once they have obtained it, they use it to ask for money, and in exchange, they will not disclose the victim's secrets. In conclusion, the advancement of technology has brought so many advantages for people, in the form of social communication between loved ones, and expanding businesses. However, it also allows scope for negative activities such as time-wasting and can also pose as a hunting ground for online scammers.