Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that the economy is the most important sector for development as opposed to developing many areas equally. I do agree with the idea that we should develop in an overall way. There is no doubt that the economy, directly related to a country and people's well-being, is crucial to a nation. The richer the country is, the more social benefits people will obtain. For example, in most developed countries, people receive more pensions than that in developing regions. What's more, a strong financial power increases a sense of security. Militaries and soldiers in wealthy countries are more likely to use advanced weapons and receive sufficient backups. However, concentrating in the economic sector only leads to many problems. For example, without investment from the government, scientists could not conduct experiments or make breakthroughs, which may exert profound influences on a nation even on human beings. Taking other sectors of equal importance brings more benefits. We know that people should develop physically and mentally. So does a nation. Sectors like arts and history should also be paid attention to. People need to learn from history and be inspired by artworks to enrich their spiritual life. What's more, real strong countries are those who developed in an overall way, including departments of education, medicine, agriculture, infrastructure and so on. Thus, the government should focus more on fields related to people's daily life. For instance, my parents care more about the price of pork and beef rather than the great progress our nation makes. In conclusion, although economical fields stand in a fundamental position of a country's development, other sectors are equally essential to a well-developed nation.