Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In our world nowadays, the impact of adverts on our lives is undeniable. We are bombarded by a plethora of adverts everywhere which entice us to consume their products. While some could consider this trend is a benefit for our societies, I believe it has a detrimental effect on us because it makes us a consumer society that will have severe side effects as we will discuss. Firstly, these ads in most cases do not provide any new invention but a new form of the already known product which could mislead the public to purchase unnecessary items. As a consequence, a considerable proportion of our incomes will be lost on not needed products. Consequently, that will undermine our financial resources to spend on more priorities like education and health care expenses. Certainly, this waste of money will eventually harm our economy which could lead to economic instability. Additionally, these advertising campaigns encourage consumerism in our communities which could have severe repercussions on our planet. Many specialists confirm that the planet's resources are diminishing drastically due to overpopulation which will soon be 10 billion individuals on earth. Unfortunately, these adverts could alleviate this problem which will have a deleterious impact on our planet. Nevertheless, this overconsumption direction will lead definitely to more industrial activities which will exacerbate the current disaster of global warming. To conclude, advertisements have emerged originally as a way to inform the public about new products or services. However, recently, these ads have become more invasive and greedy and intrusive. In addition to that, they could disrupt our efforts to preserve our natural resources.