Some modern artists receive huge sums of money for the things they create, while other struggle to survive. Governments should take steps to resolve this unfair situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that whether the government should help make the balance between those wealthy artists and poor ones. I totally agree with the idea because artists have no difference from other occupations. Arts, like other fields, offers occupations to talented people in the area. Creativity is the most important factor when we measure an artist and his works. Although the value of a work is virtually hard to quantify, experts inside the field could still discriminate between works by creative minds contained. By doing so, the art populations have their own assessment to career progression and job increments. For example, pictures from Picasso, Vincent can always earn much more money than that of other painters because of the imagination and value included. Governments should not help to ease the difference in revenues. Firstly, artists creating their works is just like those who work for companies. It is your ability that decides your salary, perks and financial rewards. Thus, help from the authorities somehow creates inequality. Secondly, there are actually more aspects in society that governments should pay attention to. Funds should be used to subsidise the poor and upgrade infrastructure in rural areas. Finally, in the art area where job prospects are hard to see, the official authorities should take robust steps to inspire those who struggle to survive. For instance, artists in a poor situation should be asked to attend some ongoing training or day release programmes, which will improve their skills. In conclusion, every artist should be evaluated by their works evenly, which should not be disturbed by official strengths.