Task 2: Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that the loss of specific kinds of plants and animals is the biggest environmental issue of our era, while others think that there are more vital environmental issues. Although the former point can be problematic in some cases, I believe that global warming and ocean pollution are more pressing environmental problems. Undoubtedly, the loss of particular species of plants and animals is a problem in some areas because it disrupts ecological balance. To begin with, if specific kinds of plants become extinct, it will lead to rapid environmental deterioration. For example, in China, due to military farming in the Xinjiang province, people destroyed the Populus euphratica forest, leading to rapid land desertification. However, I believe that this problem is limited in scope and can be easily solved if people replant these trees. Global warming and ocean pollution are the biggest problems that humans face because they can cause the extinction of thousands of species and make the environment unsuitable for human habitation. First and foremost, with the majority of species extinct, people cannot gather enough food to sustain themselves. In addition, with temperatures exceeding alert values, people may die due to extreme heat and lack of water. For instance, due to oil leaks and the discharge of nuclear wastewater into the sea, people living on small islands in the Pacific Ocean cannot catch enough fish to feed themselves, and high temperatures lead to water scarcity. I believe that this is just the beginning, and if people do not take these issues seriously, we may face extinction like the dinosaurs. In conclusion, the loss of specific plants or animals can cause localized environmental problems, but the most significant issues, such as global warming and ocean pollution, have the potential to lead humanity to destruction.