Some people believe that it is a good idea for older people to work if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

Retirement age is now becoming one of the most argumentative issues. It is argued by many that the elderly should be allowed to work if they are able to do so. From my perspective, I agree with this school of thought because of the necessity of money in our daily lives. On the one hand, allowing older people to work at any age they want is disadvantageous since senior workers may be predisposed to certain health issues which may adversely affect their productivity and their work effectiveness. This is because diseases tend to make them not as active and strong as the young who are more creative and energetic. For example, old builders suffering from acute pain are likely to struggle to carry a large number of heavy things such as bricks simultaneously. Therefore, they cannot complete their assignments on time and achieve targeted e mployer’s demands. On the other hand, I think that the elderly should have no retirement age as this trend will provide t hem extra income to cover their living expenses. To be specific, there are a lot of people who do not have p ension or social subsidies finding it impossible to live without working. They have many difficulties in paying for their daily needs, such as food or m edical examination. However, if they can do suitable jobs which are not physically demanding and stressful, they can not only make a living but also combat boredom. In conclusion, although older workers might be less productive and effective because of their health issues, it is my firm conviction that they should be allowed to work at any age they want to earn their own money and derive pleasure from working.