Scientist and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artist. To what extent do you agree.

With the advancement of science and technology, there is no doubt that modern society values scientists more than musicians and artists. I agree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. Well for starters, Science and technology is a continually advancing field, and it is important for that the facilities also to be equipped to handle the constant changes. This is why governments put more funding into research outposts so that they can have a better understanding of the world that we live in to be able to track any future diseases. For instance, the current pandemic is a perfect example of this. If no money was put into research, many countries would not have the vaccines readily available at such notice. On the other hand, music and arts, whilst they are important to help keep a past existence alive when compared to science and technology, will always have to take a back seat. However, we must understand, that this doesn't mean that we should completely avoid the arts, as it helps tourism for a country, which help boost a country's economy. For example, in Trivandrum, the capital of Kerala various artists are requested to paint murals all over the city, to beautify the city centre. An art exhibition is held every in Cochin, to promote the local artists. This exhibition attracts many foreign tourists which help boost the economy. In conclusion, whilst I feel both sectors are important, the science and technology sector edges the arts in the fact that it is more involved around the general health of the population.