Some People Say That The Best Way To Improve Public Health Is By Increasing The Number Of Sports Facilities

According to some people, building more sports centres is the best solution to improve the health and fitness level of people while others insist that this measure alone will not help. In my opinion, fitness centres will definitely enhance public health if people use them properly. However, unless they also follow a balanced diet, exercising alone will have no real impact on their health and fitness. People living in rural areas have ample opportunities to lead a physically active life and health problems are not very common among them. This is not the case in cities where people live in cramped apartments and take the bus or car to travel even short distances. Building more fitness centres like gymnasiums and sports clubs in urban areas will definitely encourage more people to get out and flex their muscle. Studies have shown that regular exercise helps people burn excess calories and thus prevents health problems like obesity, diabetes and cardiac issues. On the other hand, exercising alone will not help. In addition to being physically active, people need to follow a nutritious diet. They should eliminate junk food from their diet and replace it with fresh home cooked meals. People should also avoid habits like smoking and drinking as these are known to cause liver damage and various cancers. In other words, building more sports facilities will improve public health only if people make healthy changes to their diet and lifestyle. To conclude, in order to be healthy and fit people need to eat right and exercise regularly. If they consume a lot of junk food, they cannot improve their health by simply spending hours in the gym. Hence, in my opinion, building more sports facilities is definitely a good idea, but if people do not watch their diet, they will not gain much from using the sports facilities.