Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Health is defined as a state of social, physical and psychological well-being. The advancement in medical science has done wonders. Even many different approaches towards treatment are used nowadays which are proven to be beneficial for humankind. I am completely against the statement that alternative medicine forms are a boon to the human race and the grounds of my perception shall be discussed in this essay. To begin with, earlier there was an Ayurvedic medicine system which involved the derivation of medicines from plants (generally called herbs), animals and other natural sources. This method of treatment was effective but not clinically safe. To exemplify, sometimes the herbs from which medicine was to be prepared were not properly identified which results in side effects, even sometimes poisoning. However, it is also a very difficult and lengthy process to prepare these ayurvedic medicines. On the contrary, there are many other forms of medication such as allopathy, homoeopathy, physiotherapy, acupressure and so on. To begin with, allopathy is one of the fastest methods of treatment. The medicines are prepared in laboratories which are properly tested and are safe to use. Furthermore, homeopathy is a form of medication which can be used for long-term illnesses and is proven to have zero or minimal adverse effects. In addition to this, acupressure is used to treat people by applying pressure on certain points and can be done on a daily basis. For instance, the specialists explain the pressure points to the client and pressing those points treats the condition. However, yoga is proven to be a very effective step towards a healthy lifestyle and is one of the most commonly used preventive health care methods. To conclude, other form of medication has been clinically proven their effectiveness. Thus, are very beneficial to humans for treating illnesses.