Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Other says that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In schools, giving recognitions are an essential tool to encourage students to participate. Although to whom the award should be given after the exam is averted by many. While few people believed that only the highest achiever should be awarded, I certainly aside to the individuals with considerably progressed deserves gratification instead. To begin with, stating that a person who reached the highest scores only gets the reward, opens the ground for competition. Instead of them working together, they may sabotage the work of others. Secondly, this also puts enormous pressure on them, by being at their optimum to surpass their classmates, in addition to the other tasks in school such as homework and projects that they are already bombarded with. As a result, it increases the level of anxiety thus leading to increase cases of depression among young adults. For instance, patients from our hospital has an elevated number of mental illnesses under the age group between 13 and 19 in the past few years. On the other hand, if we acknowledge students who managed to improve their grades in a given period, similarly, this encourages them to focus on improving themselves academically. This also avoids the stress from competitiveness because their opponent is their old self. Furthermore, it permits a chance for them to work harmoniously in helping one another to become better. In a long run, this will not only benefit them to have higher grades, but they can also become a good team player in a work environment. In conclusion, It is indeed an effective approach to motivate students by using a reward tool. I am adamant about rewarding individuals who became significantly better rather than a person who gets the highest scores. Thus for me, this can produce a long term effect on their character aside from just getting good grades.Topic: Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.