Some people say that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motor bikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Road accidents are upsurging at an alarming rate across the world. While a few people believe that increasing the legal age limit of driving a four or two-wheeler will help to improve safety, others defer the aforementioned view. I understand that this method will solve the problem to a little extent. However, I think there are other critical factors such as controlling the drink and drive, enhancing the road infrastructure that will help to eradicate the indicated issue to a greater extent. Curtailing the incidents through strict policies like increasing the legal age to issue a driving license has shown some positive improvements. To be more precise, issuing penalties as a consequence for children who violate the age limit law was one of the best methods to introduce. Imprisonment of parents for 14 days, for instance, was a great rule implemented by Delhi police, whose children violate this law. Nonetheless, there were some situations where we could still see incidents by children as there was no proper surveillance. I honestly believe that there are two other important methods to be taken into consideration to eradicate the problem from the root level. Primarily, strengthening the drink and drive law by the government authorities should be a mandate at this juncture, which absolutely controls the number of accidents. As per the Indian road authority statistics, 47% of crashes, for instance, are recorded because of driving after alcohol consumption. Apart from that, the lack of infrastructure across the major cities is another reason for detrimental road safety. Widening roads, closing all potholes, installing road direction signs at required places, for example, are some of the improvements to be considered by authorities to control the incidents. To conclude, some citizens of society think that increasing the lower age limit further will ensure road safety. While I agree, the above-mentioned method has shown a beneficial impact to a certain level, there are other critical ways that will make sure to reduce fatal accidents such as stopping the driving after liquor consumption by stringent legislation enforcement and improving the road infrastructure.