Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether going abroad is the only reason for studying a foreign language. Although I understand why some people want to master a new language only when they need to travel or work overseas, I believe that there are some needs to do that even when people stay domestic. There are several reasons why people are not motivated to learn a foreign language if they are not going to be in a foreign country. Staying in one’s own country, however, means that everything in daily life is in his mother tongue and almost everyone speaks his mother tongue. There won’t be any inconvenience if someone can’t speak any foreign languages in most cases. Moreover, it normally takes a long time to master a foreign language for most people, and the time would be wasted if they barely have a chance to use the language. On the other hand, it is important for people to learn a foreign language in some domestic cases. Firstly, a foreign language may be the key to better career prospects, as some jobs in international companies require staff to use another language to communicate with clients or superiors. Secondly, people can appreciate foreign culture more thoroughly when they understand the language. For example, many thousands of young people start to learn Japanese and Korean driven by their interests in Japanese animation and K-pop. It can therefore be argued that people may want to learn a foreign language out of interest or for realistic reasons, even when they are not going overseas. In conclusion, it is reasonable for many people to think they should master a new language only if they are going to travel or work overseas, but it seems to me that there are solid reasons to do so when they stay in their own country.