Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on how many choices should students have regarding what they can study in university. While some argue that it would be better for students to be shaped into some key subject areas, I believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice. There are a host of reasons why people opine that universities should only provide subjects that will be useful in the future. They may assert that university courses like medicine, engineering, law,.. are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal perspective, it can be argued that these courses give access to more job opportunities and stable quality of life for people who take them. On the societal level, by forcing people to participate in particular subjects, the government can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered, and that they can secure a properly workforce that they need. Finally, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, entailing economic growth and greater future prosperity as a result. In spite of these arguments, I still believe that university undergraduates should be free to choose their prefered area of research. In my opinion, society would be benefited more if our graduate are passionate about their subject, and that they can study what really suit their characteristics as well as abilities. Besides, nobody can tell which area of subject will be the most useful to society in the future, it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more graduates of arts, history or philosophy than of science or technology. In conclusion, although it seems sensible for universities to focus only on the most utilitarian subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they want. Besides, I believe that everyone has their own role in society, and we should not break that diversity.