Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, skills and desires are changing from person to person. Certain bodies believe that university education should not have any boundaries to select the subject fields, whereas others argue that the majority of students must only learn subjects relating to science and technology. However, in my argument, removing restrictions will create a multi-talented community, while subject restrictions will reduce the career opportunities in the market. However, I believe that, undergraduates must have the freedom to select their own path. Through providing the freedom to select subject matter, academy graduates will benefit from several outcomes. Firstly, they have the space to choose what they desire to engage in the future. This will direct them to learn and explore new theories and strategies of various subject areas, and let them grab a considerable number of experiences in different industries. As a result, they would be able to identify the best future careers path, and after graduation, the society will strengthen with a number of multi-talented people. For instance, I had the opportunity to select my higher educational subjects without any restrictions and that makes me a successful accountant, who am I today. On the other hand, encouraging university graduates to learn only science and technology subjects will negatively affect society as well as the students. This will directly limit the number of job opportunities in the market due to a significant figure of experts in the same industry. IT companies and research firms will reduce the employment salaries owing to the higher number of job applicants in the market. For instance, a statistic one software company in Sri Lanka has reduced their wages for Web Designers due to high job demand. In my opinion, universities must allow their students to select their own educational stream without any condition. Nevertheless, the management of the university should conduct proper introduction programs relevant to all the subject areas to support the students to identify the best stream. In conclusion, providing an opportunity to select their own subject area will benefit both the students and the society, while forcing them to study in science and technology subject will reduce the career openings. However, my opinion is, students must have the freedom to select what they want to study in the universities.