Some people think that only electric cars should be on roads by 2040. Do you agree?

Electric vehicles are a relatively new concept in the automotive industry and are considered as the transport of the future. Some people are of the view that only electric cars should be permitted to run on the roads by 2040. In my opinion, although electric cars are energy efficient and environmentally friendly, they are still in the nascent stage and need more developments to be used by the masses. Firstly, the majority of the vehicles running in the world today are powered by gasoline, which is not only a major emitter of hazardous pollutants responsible for air pollution. Electric vehicles have the potential to reduce emissions by half and are far more environmentally friendly than the current options. For instance, not only are electric cars fuelled by the combustion of renewable lithium-ion cells but can be easily recharged at the nearest charging station. Thus, if more people transition to electric vehicles in the near future, we may be able to significantly reduce the effects of global warming. On the other hand, transitioning to an electric alternative comes with its own challenges. To start with, electric cars are in the early stage and are quite expensive for many. Long-distance travel is not feasible since such types of cars require frequent charging, and building extensive charging infrastructure in every corner of the globe will require billions of taxpayer's money and decades of construction work. Not to mention that it took years for cars to be affordable for a majority of the middle-class population; and even today, a small four-wheeler is still a far-fetched dream for many people. Hence, traditional vehicles will still need to be used for commuting. In conclusion, indeed, in the future electric vehicles will evolve to be cheaper and better than the current version, but it will still take a few decades to truly see a shift of running only electric vehicles on the roads. With the right combination of both gasoline cars and hybrid vehicles, we can slowly move to a future with environmentally cleaner, sustainable and cheaper vehicles.