The advances in air travel are focussed only in first class and this seems to have left others with no benefits at all. Do you agree or disagree?

In the 21st century, air travel has become the go-to means of transport for many. Some people believe the progression in air travel seems to be benefiting only the business class passengers while leaving the others behind. In my opinion, while air travel has become more accessible than ever before, the airline industry wants to cater primarily to its premium, business class customers in order to rope in maximum profits. The evolution in the aviation industry has significantly brought down the travel costs for an average citizen. Today, it is much faster and convenient to take a plane to reach the preferred point of destination than spend time in other means of transport. It cannot be denied that the economy section has transformed immensely in the last few decades, allowing more passengers to accommodate than it could earlier. The economy class is by far the most travelled segment and best suited for a significant amount of the population who simply want to travel and not spend further for other amenities. Moreover, the economy travellers can still access a few facilities by paying for more features; but only a handful of people do that. Certainly, the aviation industry likes to focus on the business class passengers, who account to a significant percentage of their overall earnings. For an airline, its business class passengers are often people who value time and comfort over money, and hence, are more likely to indulge in premium services offered by the airline. For instance, the airlines may make additional revenue by providing services such as faster check-ins, late boarding and early de-boarding, lounge access, high-end food and beverage menu etc. In conclusion, though airline travel is one of the most important means of travel, it certainly allows a majority of people to afford the fastest and the most comfortable means of transport. However, in order for the airlines to maintain the travel costs, they prefer making additional revenue by providing the best services to its higher-end, business class passengers.