Topic. Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether group work is an effective way for study. Individual learning is by no means fundamental access to knowledge while more benefits are shown on collective learning, as we shall see. Independent study means more time for deep and wide thinking. Students could arrange their time solely based on their own paces or degrees thus leading to more comprehensive insights or ideas. Added to this is high efficiency. Without time for discussion and socialization, learners concentrate on the study itself thus possibly bringing more outputs. However, the individual ability is limited when compared with that of a group of people. What's more, studying alone is not in tune with the school syllabus nowadays. Learning by group gains its popularity as it is incorporated into students' academic development. Teacher-led learning is now gradually replaced by group work, asking more for autonomous study. Learners hone their skills in gathering data and synthesising sources, which are hard to accomplish without partners. Furthermore, younger generations are more likely to improve interpersonal skills in collective learning, where they need to cooperate and socialize with group members. For example, a collective study usually contains a range of work including searching data, discriminating between truths, sifting information and marshalling the facts, all of which are based on cooperation and discussion. Finally, collective intelligence is by no means more access to innovation and breakthroughs, which has been demonstrated several times in those who are honoured by the Nobel Prize. To sum up, the outdated individual study is limited in effectiveness and profounding results while more strengths incline to collective learning in terms of its form and more potential breakthroughs it could reach.