All children should be given a free laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that when children start high school, they should have a laptop. Personally, I can neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons. I partly agree that learners should have a free laptop for their studies at high school. One of the main reasons can be that, nowadays, technology has developed and there are so many e-learning materials. This means that youngsters can use a laptop to search for information and documents related to their learning at school. Another reason can be that using a laptop can make studying easier when they use it for the right purposes. For example, there are many different cultures and customs in the world that students may not know fully about or cannot go to those places. With an electric device, they can search for information on Google so they can learn, exchange and discuss about them. On the other hand, I disagree with the viewpoint that it is a must for teenagers to use a laptop when they start high school. Firstly, it may happen that they do not use laptops for helpful activities. This is because there can be many negative things that happen to them. For example, if learners use laptops to play games too much, it can make them addicted to games and even stop eating. Secondly, there is also a lot of negative information on social networks today. If school children are exposed to and read a lot of that information, it can greatly affect them. For example, they can learn inappropriate behaviour with so many video clips about school violence or cyber abuse. In conclusion, although children should have a laptop when they start high school, I’m convinced that they must be guided and supported so that they can have clear purposes for using a laptop; otherwise, they can be affected and have a lot of trouble in the future.