Some environmentalists have advocated building wildlife sanctuaries to protect endangered species. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of doing this.

Many animals no longer exist on earth, and some others are on the verge of extinction. Considering this immediate need for preserving wildlife, many ecologists have urged on creating sanctuaries to prevent further destruction by giving them the much-needed space to survive; however, there are still many associated risks. The past few decades have witnessed the end of many creatures. Provision of protected land might help aid the gradual decrease in some rare species. While many are helpful to maintain the ecological balance, some of them are essential in medical industries to curb a particular disease and are required by scientists in laboratories for testing. This is further used to manufacture medicines and help humanity. For example, white elephants are rare animals, but their tusk possesses many medicinal attributes utilised to treat ailments like ulcers and arthritis. Conversely, building sanctuaries require a vast land area to accommodate the wildlife. As a result, many places have been cleared, causing large displacement of people forcing them to leave their homes, cattle and even farm fields. Moreover, the government could have used the land to carry out other essential projects, such as building dams and canals. For instance, in India, many new routes built in the hilly areas are through the tunnels, which is beneficial for daily commuters who otherwise had to travel long distances. In conclusion, building wildlife sanctuaries can prove beneficial to protect endangered species, like treating several ailments and maintaining ecological balance. Nevertheless, there are cons like it requires colossal space, is expensive and causes immense trouble to localities.