Some people believe that the purpose of prison is to punish, while others argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A serious public discussion about role of prison exists in modern society, especially in those, which claim to be a humane one. A majority of people consider that main purpose is punishing, others believe that correction of bad social behavior is also the goal of such places. We try to advert to both matters in this essay. From the very beginning of the first states and laws, a jail was invented as a way to impose penalties for those who dare to break the rules. Severe conditions of imprisoning aimed to make criminals suffer and to send a clear message to other people to be law-abiding and prevent them from committing crimes. For example, some Asian countries have managed to almost defeat the problem of drugs distribution by implementing quite strict laws with long prison terms. However, recently there is much talk about humanitarian mission of prison as a place for rehabilitation and fostering socially approved behavior. Developed countries have realized the fact that suffering in jail do not provide redemption at all, instead it destroys a person’s mind/ phsyce. We can see that a softening of prisoners’ life in some Europe countries shows good statistics in decreasing secondary convictions. In contrast, about 90% of criminals returned to jail and became a repeated offender. This example shows that the correction of convicts is more a question of political will and priorities. To conclude, prison is historically supposed to be a kind of institute of punishment, but in my point of view, in nearest future the civilized world must establish the proper conditions in prisons for rehabilitation of those who slipped up and made a mistake.