Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today's advertising era, it is easy to see sponsors' attractive branding in any championship or sports stars' outfits. Although it can be argued that this type of promotion is as good as other advertising tools, others seem to be more suspicious. However, I believe that the benefits of this marketing tool far outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, sponsorship not only boosts companies but also contributes to the success of the sport. To participate in the contest, without a sponsor, each player and teammate needs to pay a large amount of equipment, travel expenses, and long training times. A prime example is that, in the past, the Vietnamese football team had to work part-time to earn a living and help the family with household chores, now with financial support, they can focus on competing and progressing further in many huge championships. For the sponsoring companies, this is the best way to approach more potential customers with a view to promoting sales. However, some negative effects relating to this task should be taken into consideration. Nowadays, it seems that advertising for sports has led to serious consequences as more and more athletes focus on advertising photo shoots and forget their main purpose is to compete and inevitably leading to a decline in athletic performance. For instance, after becoming famous in the 2018 season, goalkeeper Bui Tien Dung of the Vietnamese football team was invited to shoot more commercials and forgot about the practice sessions that degraded his catch. In conclusion, although sponsorship can harm the sport and its players in some aspects, its enormous contributions cannot be denied. Therefore, there should be some regulation on funding to minimize its harmful effects.