Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion?

It is believed by a few that the government should decide fixed penalizing law for every type of offense, whereas others postulate that the personal situation of an individual should be taken into consideration, while giving the punishment. In my perspective, the latter one is the better choice because every individual has their own reasons when they commit any crime. Enhancing the speed of the penalty system is the foremost advantage that any nation could get by implementing the fixed law system. This is because extra funds will be saved, which the government is spending on various things: judicial infrastructure, lawyers and judges. Consequently, authorities can save enormous amount of public money which could possibly be invested on: education, healthcare and public facilities. Added to this is the fear in the hearts of offenders. This is to say, if fixed legislation brought into the system, then criminals know that they will be punished under the defined section of the law and this will act as a perfect deterrent for them. In Dubai, for example, in year 2016, the government has passed a corporal punishment law for each type of theft and due to this thefts have been reduced by 70% in the whole country. Therefore, I think funds and extra efforts can be saved by this way; however, it is not the best method because criminals are not rehabilitated in the way in which it has to be. Others, however, included myself, support that individual circumstances of an individual should be taken into consideration, while giving any punishment. This is because not every crime is of a same nature: murder, petty crimes, pick-pocketing. These felony have different stages. If there will be a fixed law for every situation, then it would be utterly difficult to differentiate in between heinous and small crimes. For instance, sometimes homeless people in several nations pick some eatables from general stores just to satisfy their hunger; however, that does not mean that they are criminals. Thus, in my opinion, legislation system should always check under which circumstances that particular crime was performed so that a fair judgement could be decided. To conclude, I recapitulate that it would be hard to neglect as both of the viewpoints have their own merits. Nevertheless, the latter one is the optimal method for bringing the inclusivity in the society because everyone has their own right to say why they performed a crime