Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion?

Many people argue that schools should put pupils into mixed classes, while others believe that students should be assigned to classes that are suitable for their capacity. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss now. On the one hand, there are a plethora number of reasons why people support the idea that mixed-classed might bring more benefits to students. One of the main reasons is that students can become well-rounded individuals. It is clear that when learning with other students, the student might learn from their friends and improve their weaknesses. For example, those who are good at maths but bad at literature or language can enhance their studying performance with help from their peers. Another reason is that student might form teamwork skills by cooperating with their friends during class which in turn enhance their interpersonal development. Despite the reasons I mentioned above, I hold a belief that schools should arrange students according to their learning capacity. The main reason is that students can learn at their own pace, meaning that they can absorb knowledge effectively and put what they learned into practice which can boost their confidence. Moreover, the teacher also gain benefits from this trend, they can design and deliver lessons effectively. Finally, it is undeniable that if weak students learn with smart ones, they can not keep up with their friends and underperform academically which lower their self-esteem or even make them play truant. In conclusion, although mixed-ability class models can exert positive impacts on the overall development of the student, it seems to me that students can gain more benefits and obtain more achievements in studying if teachers deliver lessons that are suitable to students ' capacity.