Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience Write at least 250 words.

It has been opined that the popularity of shopping has been tremendously increasing in the form of entertainment events. On the contrary, part of society believes that it has both pros and cons. A detailed discussion of this will be provided in the subsequent paragraphs. The popularity of shopping has increased multi-folded due to various reasons. To embark upon, technology, especially advertisement, is the major factor behind the widespread growth of shopping. In this contemporary era, technology plays a vital role in human's life. With the help of advertisements, users get attracted to new products and they feel the urge to purchase them. In addition to that, it is the need of the hour to do shopping due to the population explosion. As the population increases, there will be an increase in demand for various products to cover all the necessities of individuals. To exemplify, the old generation does not know much about new products, however, with the help of the internet, the new generation knows much about new products and subsequently purchase them. It has a lot of effects on individuals and society. Firstly, for individuals, this activity acts as a stress buster. Nowadays, people do not have time to do the recreational activities as they are busy in making careers. Study has proven that people doing physically shopping gets out of boredom and gets refreshed. Moreover, it helps in increasing the economy of the society. Selling the product will increase the livelihood of shopkeepers, manufacturers and traders. Additionally, it will also increase the tax flow to the government. Thus, it helps in building the economy of the nation. For instance, GST is collected by the seller on the sale of a product and deposited to the government. In a nutshell, shopping as a leisure activity boosts the economy of the nation, however, it is also a wastage of money as some people purchase the product even it is of no use to them. Therefore, shopping should be done to a limited extent so that all the basic necessities can be taken care of.