Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced

Given the amount of waste accumulated worldwide, it is most expedient for every nation to have a proper management system. Therefore, both government and citizenry must work together in order to ameliorate the said problem of accessive garbage. This essay will focus on the main causes of its accumulation as well as the emphasis will be laid on corrective measures for the governments to curb this problem. The first and most important root cause of rubbish production is the use of plastic goods. Though some would laud that it is a generalised statement, however, the recent data submitted by the UN during the earth summit corroborates the averred statement. Secondly, the concept of recycling, reusing is unknown to the vast number of people around the world and in consequence, non-biodegradable items are thrown in the open without due care. Moreover, there are no checks and balances over the dumping procedures in numerous factories around the world, which in fact, leads to the release of the said substances, either in the ocean or buried in the soil. Consequently, these factors are major contributors to garbage collection as well as pollution around the world. Admittedly, many nations in the west have taken corrective measures to curb the said problem by introducing various green initiatives along with various amendments in the existing Environmental laws with special emphasis on rubbish management. Even so, these actions are not creating any strong impact and thus, requires stronger initiatives. For instance, the state must ban all plastic and non-biodegradable goods and introduce criminal provisions in the existing laws with respect to its usage in order to deter the situation. Furthermore, awareness campaigns must be introduced at the grass-roots level to promote the concept of reuse, recycle and reduction. Additionally, course structures at the school and university level must include environmental science as a mandatory subject. Nonetheless, the authority must priorly implement these averred measures in their offices and subsequently amongst the general public in order to promote sustainable methods of disposal. By way of conclusion, it can be stated that the accumulation of plastic and other harmful substances is a bone of contention in today's world. But, with the collective efforts of both government and,people it can be eradicated completely.