It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no gainsaying that taking a year off before going to university is an upward trend. Although students often struggle with the breaking of connection with academics in a year gap, the refreshment of mind and spending time with family is advantageous to students. In my opinion, 12 months gap between school and institute have an equal number of banes and boons. Undoubtedly, there is not merely one, but a basketful of causative factors how one year off makes students' life bed of roses, out of which, the most prominent one is that it aid to refresh their mind from study pressure by providing them suffice time with the family. Due to academic studies, learners do not find enough time with their parents during the study that's why taking leave before higher studies help them to tighten the bond with loved ones. For instance, it is mandatory in Australia to take one - year vacations after school as it is beneficial for pupils and parents both to understand each other. Hence, the family connection can be strengthened by having some space from studies. Having said that when it comes to drawbacks then there are myriad. The main one is that youngsters can indulge themselves in other activities such as virtual games by which they lose their interest in studies. Nowadays, social media and online games are grabbing the eyeballs of younger ones which is impacting their academics. According to a survey conducted by 'The Times', it is concluded that 80% of people in India has dropped education after academy as they involved themselves in other unuseful tasks when they have gotten a year gap. To conclude, there would be no exaggeration to state that 365 days leave after school is taking an edge these days. Even though folks lose their interest in studying during this period; however they also get family time. In my viewpoint, I believe that utilization of this time in a proper way have lucrative effects, the misusage of these days can have catastrophic effects