Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Modern society has little use of books, they favour computers, phones, pads, gaming systems, etcetera. The world uses digital alternatives in an effort to be environmentally friendly. The main material to craft books is paper. Paper comes from trees and due to the current affairs on global warming, one of the initiatives is to reduce deforestation be it for making way for housing estates or even to make paper. Schools are encouraging the use of computers and pads in the place of textbooks. Textbooks are now digitalised and are made into electronic copies. There are various reasons for the digitalising of the school material, one reason is students often complain of how heavy their bags can be due to the many different subjects they take and even then students still hand carry the textbook due to not having enough space in their back. The second reason is studies have shown that bone development in children under eighteen has yet to reach maturity and due to that fact, there is a possibility of developing kyphotic postures which in layman terms means hunchback. As early prevention schools reduce the usage of physical textbooks unless necessary. Rare is the youth of the modern age who seek novels for leisure. Many turn to their gaming systems such as the Xbox, Playstation, Wii and computers. They have been exposed to such things since childhood, thus, storybooks and novels are not as popular or familiar to them. If they were to seek answers or knowledge they turn to the internet consisting of platforms such as Google and encyclopedia. In conclusion, the paperback is no longer the main source of information and entertainment with the invention of modern technologies and the continuous evolution of such technology, it can be predicted that in the future physical copy will no longer be available.