Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is an undeniable fact that public transportation reduces air pollution. A vast majority of society is convinced that public transportation has to be free in big cities. This would encourage many people to use busses and trains. Nevertheless, there are problems associated with it. The following paragraphs will elaborate on the benefit and drawbacks of free mass transportation. To commence with the advantages, first and foremost, free of charge public transportation would persuade more people to utilize busses and trains as means of transport. This in turn would tackle the issues like air pollution and traffic congestion. Secondly, in some cities busses would be more reliable as they would not have monetary benefits from passengers. More specifically, for instance, many busses run out of schedule because they spend more or less time on some bus stops trying to collect more people and thereby, get more revenue. On the other hand, public transportation services would be a financial burden for the government. Hence, it would be difficult for the government to sustain it. This, in turn, would affect the quality and reliability of the provided services. Moreover, in order to subsidize services, the government would have to use public money. This would be done at the expense of other sectors. Take, for example, education and healthcare. In order to make public transport free, authorities have to spend less on services like education and healthcare. In conclusion, free public transportation would accelerate clean air and less traffic congestion in metropolitans. Nonetheless, the detrimental side-effects on the economy cannot be ignored.