Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

The structure of the modern economy is built upon the growth rate of the number of goods being produced and consumed, which drive every nation to increase its production output. Nonetheless, the growth of consumption directly correlates with the growing amount of trash, which has become a substantial issue for the world. This essay will discuss the cause as well as the proposed solution of the problems. Firstly, the phenomenon of the increasing amount of garbage in modern days is related to the higher-earning of our generation. In other words, fifty years ago, our ancestors only earn about 10 dollars a month which was barely sufficient to buy basic necessities. Meanwhile, our generation typically earns 50 times higher than that amount, thus enabling us to buy more foods, clothing, or gadgets. Furthermore, as we consumed more, we create more rubbish in the form of packaging waste or increased disposal of old wares. The problem is exacerbated by the fact that companies offer more disposable products as compared to lasting goods, in search of higher sales and revenues. Solving the issues would require the government to increase its effort on awareness campaigns. People should be educated that the waste problem has reached a critical point. For instance, scientists found that 80% of ocean's fish are contaminated by microplastics, and this will cause health problems for people consuming the fish. Furthermore, the government should also start enforcing manufacturers to implement waste reduction as well as other sustainability practices. To conclude, although economic growth is essential for the advancement of our standard of living, the government should increase the effort to halt the production of garbage in the process. This can be achieved by educating the citizen about the damaging effects of rubbish, as well as enforcing the manufacturers to adopt the practices that create less trash.