Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has been confirmed that reading books at a young age is beneficial for cognitive development and language acquisition. Some people debate whether children should focus only on academic books or if it would be more convenient to also read works of fiction. Even though reading in general is great for kids, I think it would be best for them to have equal access to academic and fiction literature. Academic books are fundamental for acquiring new knowledge of different subjects. They are specifically designed to make learning fun and easy for all ages. This is why teachers base their classes on them. In fact, in some subjects, they are the only source of information. For example, textbooks used to teach math and physics contain all the information and exercises necessary to learn the content of the course. Academic books are a key part of the learning process and will continue to be. However, reading at an early age shouldn't be limited to academic books. Other types of reading, like fiction, are also as important when it comes to a child's healthy development. Take for instance children's books, where values and morals are taught through lively characters. Furthermore, since it's a much more fun way of learning, many teachers complement their lectures with these types of books. This keeps the students fully engaged and interested in the subject, as well as makes them interiorize the information taught more easily. In conclusion, books play a big part in shaping children into the adults the world needs. While academic books are necessary to learn about complex topics such as mathematics and science, non-academic reading is helpful in teaching kids important life values and morals. Making both academic and non-academic books equally as important for children to read while growing up.