Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum overweight the disadvantages??

It has been debatable whether museums charge for admission or others is free for it. Despite charging for entry fees having some drawbacks, I think that the advantages do overweight the disadvantages because they wouldn’t be able to protect their ancestral possessions without it. First and foremost, one of the drawbacks of charging for entering museums is that ticket money for entrance discourages some persons especially for students and low-income families who are unable to afford the fees although they would try to visit it. For example, as for some students who need to make money for their education and they are unable to spend their money for other expenditures like going to the cinema or museum. Therefore, entry fees should be free for students like the library so that they can access to get into the museum whenever they want to visit. However, there are some benefits for museums by asking for payment for admissions. Firstly, money collected from the visitors can be utilised to develop the museum. For instance, it can be used to cover the utility bills, repairing costs, renovation and staff costs. Secondly, it can be used for the well-maintenance of the museums. Maintaining a large museum costs a huge amount of money and the revenue earned from the visitors could be a good source of money to do that. If everyone can access free museums, there will not be a budget to allocate for the improvement and maintenance of the museums and it will be shut down in the future. To sum up, demanding money for entering museums as admissions fees has some adverse effects but I do believe that there are many positive effects and the advantages do overweight than disadvantages.