In many countries, more and more men are staying at home to look after their children when women work full-time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate that in a wealth of nations when women enter the workforce full-time, there is an increasing number of males staying at home to care for their children. There are numerous underlying reasons for this and personally, I would contend that it could be considered a positive trend in lieu of a negative one. Undeniably, there are a wide range of reasons for this development. An apparent justification is a radical movement towards gender equality. In fact, there has long been a bitter but worth battle over the rights of women, which may lead to a dramatic alteration in prejudice over the role of women in this day and age. Certainly, this will usher social acceptance if women incessantly chase their line of career. Thus, that women set foot in every field ranging from business administration to even politics is gradually considered a common norm and this development is completely inevitable. Another evident rationale is that because of the ceaseless pursuit of gender equality, women nowadays own full means in order to enjoy every right as their counterparts, especially regarding education. Owing to these remarkable shifts, for the time being, women can have countless chances to gain insightful knowledge so as to have a firm grasp in the educational field as well as possess sets of skills cultivated to the level that men can do. This is an obvious attribution resulting in the ever-increasing demand for women's position in the company in terms of a wealth of facets such as hospitality, logistics, etc. Irrefutably, the emergence of this phenomenon is understandable because of not only women's brilliant educational competence together with meticulousness but also their high precision while working. Hence, the notable change in family roles where men are no longer the sole breadwinner is utterly predictable. Besides, in my point of view, I believe that the positivity of this trend outweighs the negativity and ought to be regarded as remarkable progress. Without a shadow of doubt, this development still has some significant downsides, one of them which is worth mentioning is that it puts an intense strain on mothers' physical condition. To be more specific, mothers in families are dealing with heavy workloads at their working places on a daily basis, which makes them suffer from chronological stress. Then, in the long run, it will be more highly vulnerable to serious diseases such as splitting headache, stomach disorder, continuous exhaustion or even depression. Meanwhile, so long as no one is willing to share the responsibility for covering the bills with them, their health well-being will be turned into a critical condition. Nonetheless, undeniably, this growing pattern brings an eclectic mix of tremendous benefits. A noticeable redeeming feature is that it cultivates the interpersonal skills of children by their fathers. Indeed, the imagination along with the critical thinking of toddlers is able to be greatly enhanced by being surrounded with dads. For instance, astronomy can be cited as an outstanding field to impart to children. By creating a constellation with certain meaningful shapes such as a cow or snake-like one, fathers are capable of arousing their kids' imagination powers and their logical thinking by asking intriguing questions related to star shapes. To sum up, there is a wealth of roots leading to the vigorous upsurge in the number of men staying at home looking after children when women are occupied with work; nevertheless, I strongly believe that though there are some hurdles that need people to get over, this phenomenon should still be encouraged and seen as a positive trend.