Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling household waste is expected in society. People need to reuse, reduce and recycle their domestic rubbish not only to protect the environment but also to ensure the future prosperity of humankind. I strongly believe that government regulations are required to force people to increase their domestic recycling habits because of irresponsibility and time. Since many individuals neglect their duty to recycle a lot of rubbish, government laws are needed to force them to act in the interest of themselves, the public and the planet. Frequently, people around the world throw plastic bottles, tin cans, and glass containers into their general rubbish which should otherwise be separated into recycling bins, and authorities can make this an obligation by imposing strict, 1000-dollar fines, for those who do not separate their recyclables appropriately. (Specific example) In my neighbourhood, I have seen recycling increase threefold since the Canadian government established strict laws for residents that do not recycle their waste. (Connecting sentence) This is one of two reasons that governments must regulate domestic recycling. Our planet cannot cope with the rate of pollution generated by humanity and societies are running out of time to save the environment so government intervention is needed to speed up the process. (E) The rate of land, water and air pollution is extensive and is causing global warming and land, air and water pollution is rapidly increasing leading to global warming and the death of flora and fauna. Without putting a quick stop to this process the planet, and humanity along with it, suffers and dies in a matter of decades, and it is up to elected authorities to curtail this phenomenon with heavy fines and consequences for those households which contribute to this problem. Example – Due to the contribution of the increased consumption and waste of domestic waste, global temperature has risen by over 1 degrees average in the last year; at this rate, humanity cannot survive another half-century. When governments regulate this behaviour with 1000-dollar fines they force people to change their habits within a matter of weeks rather than years. In conclusion, many people do not care enough about recycling and the planet is simply running out of time for humans to recycle sufficiently. Therefore, I strongly support the idea of government regulation to increase domestic recycling practices. In the end, it is better to force people to pay a fine now than to pay with their lives later in a world which can no longer sustain life.