To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that GM foods are not only unhealthy but affect the nature too. Do you agree or disagree about this

Genetically modified food has become increasingly popular over the past few decades. According to many, with an ever growing population at a fast pace, the country should utilise the GM method to get hold of food scarcity, while others consider this is detrimental to health as well as its poor impact on the natural environment. I will examine both the arguments in detail and also explain why GM food production is necessary to overcome its insufficiency to save the world from famine in the future. Analysing the statement and explaining further, a number of people are suspicious about the perilous effects on their health. In GM, the food is processed through genetic engineering of the DNA of the plants. Moreover, its negative impact on the biodiversity of nature through cross-pollination and the breeding of more resistant weeds is under discussion. Although major concerns are that this can cause the mutation that is responsible for causing cancer and other diseases, not many research publications are available to prove the hazardous effect on human bodies. Its effectiveness is a debatable topic and has gotten more controversial over time. On the other hand, many parts of the world are struggling with overpopulation. This condition can lead to a discrepancy in food for every individual. To compensate for this food shortage, countries need to produce this through GM. For example, the world’s population is estimated to reach nearly 8 billion in the next few years. If special measures are not taken, there is a chance of lack of availability, and a reduction in crops yielding could lead the world towards famine. In addition, crops of more nutritional value, which are full of vitamins in huge quantities, can be generated through this procedure, which are more resistant to insects and viruses. Therefore, to face this challenging situation, I personally support the idea that more benefits should be made out of this. According to the arguments aforementioned, one may reach the conclusion that while the drawbacks of genetic engineering cannot be ignored, it provides an important solution to handle the alarming food concerns associated with overcrowding expected in future.