Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back the old days and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the lifestyle of people. It is argued that the current generation is likely to rise in egoism, thus, we have better return to the existing society where people always expressed respect for family and community. From my personal point of view, I am well convinced that the living of the previous generation can be seen as an ideal environment for people to reside in because of their myriad of precious values. It is obvious to note that residents settled in the previous society expressed a better living style, especially with regard to the family relationship. It is such a common norm that when pressing issues come up, the first one they would turn to is their beloved family members being willing to help them immediately in both sentimental and tangible benefits. To be specific, sharing and caring were given unconditionally to each member by providing prompt encouragement to boost members’ confidence so as to confront the problems. At odds with this, the contemporary generation has a tendency to lead a more independent way of life together with the rise in egoism. It is irrefutable that they tend to work separately to serve their individual advantages, hence, sharing seems to be rarer and it is blamed for misunderstanding. Thereby, it brings radical changes in attitudes towards family as well as causes severe consequences which is the breakdown of family solidarity. Therefore, reviving the bygone attitudes towards family is of real significance. So greedy are people for the time being that they may engage in illegal activities to expand their own profit. Meanwhile, back in the old days, people lived in a community that others benefits were taken into consideration and almost every action was done for the sake of others. For instance, the current merchants or businessmen tend to earn handsome incomes from manufacturing the disqualified products and then cajoling customers to purchase them even though they do not need them. Notably, those subsequently refuse to plough back a fraction of their revenues to the community ’s benefits such as doing charity, helping homeless people or enhancing the condition of slums and to name a few. Through this phenomenon, it is irrefutable that nowadays people are likely to possess the more negative radical changes in behaviour with society. To sum up, greed and individualism do both families and society a disservice. Simultaneously, I would contend that to avoid further loss of household solidarity and community unity, people should reconstruct the concept of family and community like what people in the previous generation used to do.