Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate revolving around arming guns for police when conducting justice might stimulate a higher level of violence in the community. From my personal point of view, I am well-convinced that Without a shadow of a doubt, armed police guns might handle a frenzy of hazardous pressing issues in society day in day out. Obviously, in those areas where criminals are rampant, holding a gun might assist police to protect the public citizens as well as themselves from potential attack. In other words, it might give the police the leverage in their combat against perpetrators, especially those hardened offenders. The situation of police in Norway can be cited as a convincing example. Previously, they were not armed with guns while doing patrols, however, after a destructive attack of the IS terrorist, this has not been the case anymore. Hence, firearms are of real essence serving as a deterrent to would-be offenders. While the redeeming features of that police force is armed with guns while conducting justice are widely acknowledged, there still lingers immense negative disadvantages when armed police. It is undeniable that it could increase the potential of miscarriage of justice and mistaken shootings of innocent civilians. Given the fact that even though the enactment of legislation is protecting the residents from torture or cruel treatment, if the police are armed they also protect their rights to using guns. Additionally, the police will be less likely to think twice before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a potential threat, they can easily get away with private execution by inventing a legitimate excuse such as self-defence. Therefore, the chance of shoot-out would naturally rise causing many preventable injuries or losses of life. To sum up, albeit armed police guns might give advantages over the inhabitants living, its favourable downsides directly impacted on the community should be reflected.