Some people think that the development of technology has made our life more complex, and the solution is to live a simpler life without that technology. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate whether the existence and improvement of high-tech gadgets have made humankind’s life more sophisticated. Therefore, a life without any of them will be way better. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would consider myself an opponent of this statement. It is indisputable that the overdependence on technologies makes modern people lack proactiveness. Apparently, in these present days, with the assistance of a wealth of state-of-art technology, people usually have a sense of laziness to perceive some tasks that are actually beneficial to themselves. Take cars as a prime example, if citizens can choose walking or cycling to work instead of driving a car, their life would be more comfortable, healthier and more economical. There will be no more worry about traffic congestion and accidents, the fees on gas and maintenance and the risk of some pathology such as obesity caused by the lack of exercise. Hence, isolation from technology can simplify and better our daily life in certain cases. While the aforementioned features are widely acknowledged, the widespread use of advanced appliances also makes people’s life easier, especially in doing household chores. In particular, while in the past, people often spent hours in order to clean their house, cook dinner or do the laundry, nowadays, by pressing a button of the washing machine, a cookery or a vacuum, all of the chores could be done without the persistence of humans. As a result, they can spend that time with a view to doing more important work. Therefore, the comfort that high-tech brings is undeniable. In conclusion, I believe that the use of technology in our daily life can facilitate our life significantly. However, we should avoid the abuse of it and attempt to balance the usage.