Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is often said that society is controlled by rules and laws, therefore, without the presence of regulations, society will fall into chaos. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea. There are a plethora of reasons why I believe that our society should be based on laws. One of the main reasons is to ensure the safety of people. This is because,under the control of stringent regulations, citizens will behave properly. For example, people might obey the driving rules while driving in the street which might help to reduce the number of car accidents and thus protect law-abiding citizens. Another reason is to maintain the stability of the society. This is because if there are no rules or any laws to put citizens' behaviours in control, they will feel free to conduct illegal activities such as human trafficking, using and buying drugs which will exert severe impacts on the development of society. Moreover, I believe that laws and regulations play an important to the development of society. It is obvious that our human rights are secured by the presence of laws, we have the right to go to school when reaching the age of 6 or 7 and have equal access to knowledge meaning that we might become well-brought people and contribute positive things to the society. Therefore, compensating a certain amount of freedom seems to be an acceptable trade-off for being protected by laws. Finally, with the influence of laws, the government might find it easier to manage society. To illustrate, Vietnam fights against the covid 19 pandemic successfully since the government can use laws to take urgent actions such as imposing social-distancing rules to combat the covid transmission. In conclusion, As the aforementioned reasons I mentioned above, I think that without laws and regulations we might not conduct our human rights and society will deteriorate in chaos.