Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We are living in an era where the economy plays an important role in everything around us. Some people, including me, believe that the goals of authorities should not be just economic developments although some think it is the aspect that requires the most attention. To begin with, in our rapidly evolving world, education and culture are as important as the economy. Some individuals hold the view that we should not prioritise the economy over other sections such as health care and education. Simply put, major actions should be implemented to develop each part of society equally. For example, some countries may considered as developed countries in terms of economy, but when it comes to cultural and educational programmes they are not rich enough. In fact, this might happen as a result of allocating the budget and attention just to economic development. In such countries, people may lose their cultural identity and feel frustration in their lives. Furthermore, there are some perspectives that the more the economy progresses, the more facilities will be in society. Money can affect all aspects of our lives ranging from the amenities provided by parents for their children to housing, social services, and even protecting natural habitat. Consequently, it can foster happiness in society and lead to happier citizens. Moreover, crime rates and poverty lines could be mitigated if people have more income which might not happen except by economic developments. In conclusion, although views differ about this matter of whether governments should base their goals just on economic progress or not, I believe it is wise for them to pay attention to different parts of society equally because civilization will not work properly without good education and culture.