There have been many technological developments in the past few decades, for example in telecommunications, transport and health. What technological development do you think has been the most important? How has it changed people's lives? Have all the changes been positive?

In this modern era, progression in every sector has been attained due to technological development. In my opinion, internet invention is the most essential for technological advancement as it connects people irrespective of the place. Although the internet has immense beneficial effects, it also has some negative impacts on society. To begin with, the internet could bring people together. Nowadays, a person who is studying or working in abroad can speak with his family through video calls by means of applications such as Skype, Watsapp,etc. Internet not only brings family members together but also connects like-minded people from different parts of the world through social media like Facebook, and Twitter. Moreover, these social platforms also act as a source through which people can showcase their skills. In addition, people could get a work-life balance as the internet enables them to work from home. Therefore, the internet helps people to bond with each other irrespective of distance as well as work. On the other hand, the internet has made people become lazy individuals. In contemporary times, every individual could get their needs delivered at their doorsteps. For instance, one person might get his food delivered by ordering online through applications such as Swiggy, Zomato,etc. This reduces the physical activity of people and assists them to gain weight. Furthermore, if people are overweight, that could cause diseases like hypertension and heart diseases. Thus, the internet could have detrimental effects on people ’s health by making them lazy. In conclusion, even though the internet has the advantages of connecting people with their loved ones and like-minded people, it also has drawbacks of affecting people ’s wellbeing.