In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Needless to say, it is crucial for a child’s development to get support from their parents, relatives or teachers. Offsprings of some cultures are often made to believe that they can succeed in anything they want if they put enough effort into it. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice. On one hand, telling a child to try hard has numerous advantages. First of all, this can boost its self-confidence and give it motivation and inspiration to be hard-working, making it hopeful that anything is possible. This results in better mental health which can impact its adult years. Furthermore, making a kid put effort into its interests builds up a strong will and determination, which are actually key features of successful people. It also helps children be less resilient to trying new things later on in life, as they do not compare themselves to the more skilled than them, but rather work harder to succeed. On the other side of the coin, this practice has some flaws. One downside is that telling youngsters to try hard to succeed can set them unrealistic expectations of the world, where they will think that anything is possible. This can cause a distorted sense of self, which can lead to an adult unsure of their skills later on in life. If a kid is trying very hard and is not succeeding, it may lower their self-esteem and make them prone to self-criticizing. Another thing is that such children grow into overachievers who do not know when to give up. For example, teenagers who spend day and night studying to be top of the class are a product of this message. To summarize, telling kids that they can achieve anything if they put hard work into it provides them with support, motivation and determination, which are essential for their personal development. However, this practice can lead them to grow into adults with unrealistic worldviews and low self-esteem.