Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the arts are just as valid as other subjects, especially for primary school children. This essay agrees with that statement because in artistic subjects, students can discover their potential talents early on, and they give them the chance to express their feelings. An introduction to arts-related subjects at an early age allows students to discover what they are good at. Not everyone has a gift for academic subjects such as mathematics or science and many students may not realise their potential in other areas if they do not have the opportunity to first try these subjects at school. For example, in schools without subjects such as music, art and drama, students may be reliant on their families to introduce them to such activities, which means many will not even have the opportunity to try. Furthermore, creative subjects allow young students to share what they are feeling with others. Unlike in science subjects, activities such as singing, painting, and acting remove inhibitions and give a platform to indirectly show student’s feelings through these artistic mediums. This can help detect emotional problems within a child which may not have otherwise been expressed. For example, school psychologists can tell much more about a young child’s emotional state from a painting they did in art class than they can from a history project. In conclusion, this essay agrees that music, art and drama are of equal value to other subjects in the primary classroom because they enable all children to discover aptitudes outside the narrow academic focus, and they provide an opportunity for pupils to express their emotions.