In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Touristic nations have been realizing the economic essentiality of foreign visitors to their development, despite the drawbacks. This essay will shed light on both favourable and unfavourable points of view and will reinforce why international tourism may assist in social justice. The money spent by international tourists is responsible to increase the economy, especially for developing countries. One of its main beneficial effects lies on job generation, which despite huge touristic companies, favours small businesses related to a myriad of services, ranging from souvenir selling to restaurants. Moreover, the international tourism industry is responsible for promoting indirectly a plethora of distinct economic sectors, such as real estate and entertainment. In Salvador, for instance, plenty of flats are rented for short stays during Carnival, as well as incentives for all sorts of artistic presentations. On the other hand, international tourism is the subject of criticism since it may also promote social inequity. One of the negative core aspects is related to the process of gentrification that some regions may face once they become popular sightseeing. Since more and more wealthy people visit these locations, all the prices tend to achieve higher levels, from pharmacy and grocery stores to the prices of rental properties, resulting in less affordable conditions for the locals. Another issue is related to the possible increase of violence, which may be caused by criminals seeking to obtain international currencies and electronics. To conclude, both points of view have strong arguments and have their merits. However, despite the negative aspects, it is undeniable the presence of tourists from other countries is more advantageous for the visiting country. The money these people bring contribute significantly to the economy, especially if their expenses are paid with a stronger currency. The income generated may be used to build schools, create more opportunities for locals, and thus promote social justice.