It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Learning the distinction between right and wrong should be given to offspring at an early age. Some believe that punishment can precede thus the learning process. However, I totally disagree almost entirely with the given statement. To some extent, the question depends on the age of the child. To punish a very young child is wrong and foolish. Because infants will not understand what is happening or why they are being punished. Therefore, once the age is reached, a child can be rewarded for good behaviour and discouraged from bad. This kind of firm approach will achieve more than harsh punishment, which might lead to many negative consequences for the parents. Furthermore, to help children understand between right and wrong, teachers and parents should first provide good role modelling in their own behaviour, because children tend to imitate the behaviour from their closest circumstances. In addition, the adults could give the understatement about right or wrong with the simple sentences. This will help the child to absorb the rules more easily. Rather, teachers and parents can use a variety of methods to discipline their young charges, such as detention, withdrawal the privileges, and time-out. The adults can also make a clear rule for the children. For instance, they should eat up their food or they will not get a free dessert, or they should apologize after making a mistake. To conclude, I totally disagree with the argument that punishment is necessary to discipline children. Although, as an adult, we should be a good role model for them to learn about what is right or wrong.