Some people think parents should read stories to children. Others thinkparents don't need to do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies bythemselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are arguments among people that whether parents are supposed to read stories to children or let them read books or watch movies on their own. From my own point of view, I do believe that both the two aspects are indispensable and parents should tell stories to the kids, and meanwhile, children need to learn to read independently. From the perspective of gaining information read by parents, considerable benefits can be extracted. First and foremost, through reading books to children, family interaction can be increased, because doing so, parents can spend more time accompanying their children, which is an essential aspect for children ’s mental growth. Besides, reading for children can effectively attract them and evoke their interest, which could therefore improve their reading efficiency. For instance, parents can use their variable tone and specific body gestures to illustrate vivid story scenes and interact with the kids to grasp their attention, making them stay concentrated so that their learning efficiency could be elevated. On the other hand, the ability to read books and watch TV programs without dependence is pivotal as well. Predominantly, in this way, it can help the child to develop their capability of independent thinking and problem-solving. On the contrary, if they lack this self-learning progress, they could not be willing to read continuously to expand knowledge and broaden their horizons. As a result, when facing difficult and complex problems, they would only seek assistance from others and wait for solutions. In consequence, in the long run, with the exposure to a world of knowledge, children will learn how to think differently and critically, gaining a deep inside into what they have learned, and then putting the knowledge into practice. In conclusion, I firmly stand by that parents should read stories for their children regularly and give them enough time to learn by themselves at the same time.