ome people believe governments should spend money on fast means of public transport. Others believe money should be spent on other important priorities for public transport (e.g. cost, environment, etc.) Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely recognized that the onus is on governments to allocate funding for improving the public transportation system. Given this, much has been debated over what parts should be focused on. One school of thought holds that the state subsidies should be directed towards the betterment of mass transits’ pace; meanwhile, others argue that it is imperative to spend more on other fields of priorities such as price and eco-friendly energy. This essay will first scrutinize both views before presenting my final thought. On the one hand, many people are pro that state funding should be invested in increasing the speed of public transports, and justifiably so. The key rationale of this is that it could aid in conserving time and energy for commuting since travelling by these transports takes an excessive time that renders the passengers extremely fatigued. Therefore, they could utilize the saved time to accomplish more fruitful tasks. However, given the incurred costs paid for infrastructure, employees’ salary, among others, the colossal expenses associated with running the faster mode of mass transit would take a heavy toll on national coffers, which are often too meagre. As such, the feasibility of the aforementioned proposal is questionable at best. On the other hand, I am convinced that it is better to spend more public money on other crucial priorities for mass transportation such as costs and the environment. In terms of the former, as the fares of the public transport are too exorbitant for some people, subsiding to bring down the cost could help inhabitants, especially those from middle- and low-income groups, facilitate taking a ride to travel to their desired destinations. Regarding the environment, expanding the budget for investment in environmentally friendly energy could help to reduce the toxic fumes exchanged from public transport, which is one of the chief culprits behind air pollution. As a result, it may alleviate the environmental degradation and decrease the potential health risks such as asthma, bronchitis and respiratory diseases, thus improving public health. To summarize, proponents of increasing funding allotted to develop fast means for public transport often emphasize how it can help citizens in reducing the waste of time and effort. Nonetheless, they fail to factor in the fact that the enormous outlay to execute such a proposal may have a considerable bearing on the government budget. Instead, the focus should be diverted to other precedences such as fare and green energy, considering the fact that this not only helps the underprivileged to commute by mass transits but also mitigates the environmental deterioration.