For many, being allowed to say what you want without fear of punishment is a basic human right. Why do people believe in the freedom of speech? Will the huge technological changes affecting us make it easier or more difficult for citizens to enjoy freedom of speech?

Being able to express your opinion as an individual has been the basis of human rights. However, there have been some concerns related to governments trying to forbid us from this right with the help of technology. The question of why freedom of speech is a non-negotiable right and how technologies could affect it is worth considering. Permitting people to talk about their beliefs freely benefits both individuals and society alike. When we feel secure and accessible, we become more creative and critical at the same time. By not being afraid to say whatever you want, you get to criticize authorities' decisions. Suppose you don't live under a dictator regime. In that case, criticism always makes the government work harder and try to tackle problems more effectively. This would make the society more united, and everyone can have a part in running their country. Furthermore, no senator is safe enough from the critics of the community, and they start to make their decisions more carefully. Troublingly, with the development of technology over the past years, it has become easier for those in power to control people's opinions and monitor their activities. Overall, it is more logical for them to shut down everyone who questions their ability to make commands and attack their decisions. Recent researches indicate that in 80 percent of countries, journalists have difficulties freely publishing their reports, and they get warnings from their supervisors regarding their content. Nonetheless, many reporters in Iran are currently facing charges because they have put question marks on the decisions of the officials. Having said all of that, I wholeheartedly believe that we must enshrine our freedom of speech carefully and not let the power curb this law in anyways. This has to become common sense between every single member of our society.