in recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, global shopping markets have become dominant in the industry with the lion's share in this vital industry. Consequently, a lot of local shops have been closed or passing through financial troubles due to the scarcity of customers who opt to head up to the large chain shopping centres. In my perspective, this phenomenon is detrimental to the local business as we will discuss. As a starting point of the argument, these multinational retail corporations have the resources to organize fancy marketing campaigns which draw many consumers. Furthermore, they have the ability to purchase their products from the company at competitive prices which seem unfair to the local groceries. As a consequence, many buyers turn to these international chains which could have severe repercussions on internal business. Additionally, this situation will lead to long-term consequences such as increased poverty and the spread of unemployment among the population. Firstly, a lot of smallholders will lose their incomes from their own groceries which could afflict many families and make them lie below the poverty line. Secondly, the blockage of these small shops will lead to thousands of unemployed citizens which impose an additional challenge to the government. Moreover, this trend exacerbates the problem of redistribution of wealth in favour of the limited wealthy businessmen around the world. To summarize, preserving the small projects which include the groceries and local markets is essential to the internal business. For that reason, I think the authorities should regulate the global markets and diminish their powerful impact on the local economy which might consider as a monopoly.