The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Modern parents hardly spend time with their children, even in their free time. There are a number of reasons for this, and children are likely to face greater consequences of this lack of parental presence. Parents are less and less involved in their children ’s lives for two reasons. Firstly, some people continue to work after leaving office because many jobs require such extra labour. Jobs in accounting or banking, for example, usually entail heavy workloads which may not be dealt with during office hours. This leads to more time being allocated to work instead of family. Secondly, many modern parents spend their free time on smartphones rather than with their children. Since smartphones grew in tremendous popularity in the past decades, vast numbers of people have been drawn and attached to such devices for different purposes, be it simply reading news or engaging in social media activities. Spending little free time with children causes severe emotional distress and behavioral problems. Children who lack parental attention are likely to feel emotionally neglected. This may lead to lower self-esteem and antisocial behaviors, including delinquency, illegal drug use, and unsafe sexual relationships. More seriously, this may badly shape those children ’s personalities and perception of life when they enter adulthood. While parents who are frequently absent throughout the day can also be negatively affected, the consequences that their children have to suffer from are far worse. In conclusion, due to modern work requirements and smartphone overuse, parents hardly have time with their children. This lack of parental presence does more significant harm to children than it does to parents.