Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that a government should invest more in the rail system and build more railroads rather than diverting funds to improving highways and road transportation systems. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but I also believe that the decision of building railways or roads should be made based on the natural conditions of the area and the preference of citizens. On the one hand, it is understandable if some people opine that a government should expand more railroads rather than roads and streets. Firstly, it is obvious that when a country has extensive rail networks, it will positively affect the logistic cost. The selling price of many goods would be cheaper since a single locomotive could carry tonnes of crops, goods or liquor. Secondly, by building integrated subway stations in city areas, traffic congestion could be avoided. For example, as Singapore has a very good train network, called MRT, most of the people rarely drive on their vehicles. As a result, Singapore is free from traffic congestion and air pollution. On the other hand, it is also important for a government to do some feasibility studies about the geological conditions of an area before planning to improve railroads. It is a fact that some areas might not be suitable for railways, as those areas might have swamps or rocky mountains, for example. If the government finalise building railway networks, the investment cost might be unreasonably high. For instance, Borneo in Indonesia is one of the largest islands in the world, but most of the areas are swamps. So it is not suitable for railroads but good for an integrated water and road transportation system. Finally, the preference of citizens should also be considered before investing in construction on railroads or highways. In conclusion, a government should invest in building railroads where applicable, but should also analyse thoroughly before spending money solely on railways. The authority needs to ensure that their areas are suitable for rail networks and people prefer that transportation system.